New winners of the UAB's "Thesis in 4 Minutes"

Guanyadors de la final de la Tesi en 4 Minuts de la UAB
From left to right: Clara Puig, 1st prize; Joaquim Viñes, 2nd prize; Eloi Guerrero, audience award.

Clara Puig, a PhD student enrolled in the UAB's Medicine programme, won first prize in the "Thesis in 4 Minutes" competition. She will receive a cash prize of 800 Euros and will represent the UAB at the final phase of the competition, organised by the Catalan Foundation for Research and Innovation, to be held on 22 June from 5 p.m to 7 p.m.


The winner of the first prize was Clara Puig Pera, who explained her PhD thesis on cardiovascular risk and received a cash prize of 800 Euros.

The second prize, worth 500 Euros, went to Joaquim Viñes Pujol, PhD student in Animal Production, who represented his research on the complete genome sequence with the aim of tackiling antibiotic-resistant bacteria.

The third prize, the audience award, worth 200 Euros, went to Eloi Guerrero, who studies microacustic filters as a student of the PhD programme in Electronicand Telecommunication Engineering. 

Clara Puig will represent the UAB in the final competition of the "Thesis in 4 Minutes", which will be held on 22 June from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. The competition is organised by the Catalan Foundation for Research and Innovation, and will include the participation of all Catalan universities, with prizes for the three best presentations, each for a value of 3,000 Euros, 2,000 Euros and 1,000 Euros.

The competition took place at tha conference hall of the Rectorat building (and was streamed live on the UAB's YouTube channel) and included the participation of 12 PhD students. Alongside the three winners were Raquel Ortiz López (Microbiology), Aamir Suhail (Psychology of Communication and Change), Sofia Gaggiotti Marre (Paediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynaecology), Marcel Algueró Casas (Physics), Clara Cufí Cabré (Matemathics), Pol Sallés Perramon (Materials Science), Natalia Vila Urriza (Comparative, Political and Social History), Heng-lun Ko (Animal Production), Juan Angel Aibar Duran (Surgery and Morphological Sciences).


More information: Video of the final of the Thesis competition in 4 minutes at the UAB
Thesis Contest in 4 minutes